Zoe

8 Nov

Zoe died tonight. After 2 days at Vescone, a week at home, and a week in the ICU at Tufts with tons of tests, 3 types of antibiotics, and finally steroids, they still didn’t know what was wrong and she couldn’t hold on. Her symptoms were painful and swollen joints, fever, abscesses, and some changes in her blood chemistry – high white cells, low platelets, and finally low blood protein. They treated her for a tick-borne illness until those tests came back negative, and then treated for a bacterial infection. The other thought was an immune-mediated disease but they couldn’t treat for that without ruling out a bacterial problem because by suppressing her immune system they would take away her defense against the bacteria. They started her on steroids yesterday feeling pretty comfortable that it wasn’t bacterial and hoping there was still time. Hopefully the necropsy will give us some answers, although the joint taps, x-rays, ultrasounds, biopsy, and multiple blood tests didn’t tell us much. One positive is that our experience with Tufts was terrific. Zoe’s doctor (Dr. Cornejo) called me at least once a day with a very detailed explanation of what was going on and what everything meant. I sensed in our conversations today that she felt like they were losing the battle. She said that the whole hospital was upset that they hadn’t been able to help Zoe.

We brought Zoe into our family when Adlani turned 1, because I felt like I could handle a puppy at that time. I purposely waited after Rosie died because I knew that we were planning to have another baby and it was tough to give Rosie any attention while I had an infant, let alone take care of a puppy. When Zoe was about 6 months old we found out that we were going to have Norah. The combination of another pregnancy/infant, added to the fact that Zoe was a very hyper dog, meant that Zoe could not be as integral a part of our family as Rosie had been. I feel guilty. Zoe was with me when I was home alone or the kids were in bed, but was like a bull in a china shop when the kids were home and awake. I did the best I could…we just completed our 3rd round of obedience training, private lessons this time. She had turned a corner and was nearing the end of her naughty teenage years. The kids are bigger now and I wasn’t as concerned about her accidentally hurting them. She had actually become a pleasure to be around and I know she loved us very much. We love you too Zoe.

Thank you to everyone who has been checking in with me on her progress.

4 Responses to “Zoe”

  1. karen_fonseca November 8, 2007 at 2:30 pm #

    Zoe was such a lucky dog. I think that part of the reason that she was so hyper was because she was so happy! She had a great family with lots of activity and love. I will never forget watching 5 kids bathe her with soap and buckets of water on her head. She actually enjoyed it! Her life was shorter than some dogs, but most likely more eventful. Find peace in knowing that you did everything that you could to make her better, but she was not meant to suffer any longer. We love you all.

  2. a.lewenberg November 8, 2007 at 7:50 pm #

    You did everything you could have and then some, sweetie…

  3. teamritchie November 8, 2007 at 11:00 pm #

    I didn’t know Zoe well, but did see the joy that she brought to all of the kids at Aliya’s graduation party. She showed incredible patience and enthusiam as the kids stood just outside of the reach of her leash and played tag with her. You did everything you could to integrate Zoe into your family and far more than many would have to try to keep her there. My thoughts are with all of you.

  4. sherry November 9, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    “I know God would never give me something that I could not handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.” -Mother Theresa“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” -Josh Billings She loved every minute with you. Lucky girl. We love you guys, big hugs and kisses from the Libby’s.

Leave a comment